Victoria the only State not protecting emergency roadside workers

RACV External Communications

Posted April 22, 2024

The South Australian Government has introduced legislation to parliament that, if passed, will reduce the speed limit when drivers pass all roadside breakdown and recovery vehicles such as Royal Automobile Association of South Australia (RAA) patrol vans.

This means Victoria is the only State jurisdiction, NT being the only territory, where emergency roadside assistance workers are not protected by reduced speed limits offered by the rule known nationally as the ‘Slow Down, Move Over’ rule.

The current ‘Slow Down, Move Over’ rule in Victoria – or Road Rule 79A – only requires drivers to slow down to 40km when passing vehicles with red and blue lights, such as a slow-moving police vehicles and emergency vehicles.

RACV General Manager of Automotive Services, Jackie Pedersen, says it is now time for the Victorian Government to ensure RACV emergency roadside assistance workers and tow truck drivers are provided the same protection as in other States.

“It is heartening to see that our colleagues in RAA are now protected just like workers driving vehicles with red and blue flashing lights,” Ms Pedersen said.

“Following this development, we continue our call for the Victorian Government to urgently introduce a 40 kilometre per hour speed limit for passing vehicles with yellow flashing lights, including RACV patrol vans and tow trucks.

“RACV is committed to achieving a safe environment, not just for our service providers, but also our members when they are stranded at the side of the road and we look forward to a positive response from the Victorian Government.”

Download media release (pdf, 151.3KB)

For all media requests, contact our Media and Communications team.