Young cyclists test their pedal power

This page contains archived content

To visit the new RoyalAuto website you can use the link below. 

The series winners of the 2017 RACV Victorian Junior Road series

More than 250 young cyclists have tested their mettle and their pedal power on country roads across the state over the past four months in the 2017 RACV Victorian Junior Road Series.

With races for under-11s up to under-17s, RACV’s Nick Daly (pictured right with series winners) says the series helped introduce junior cyclists to the rigours of road racing and had a strong focus on safe riding.

“The under-11s had events that were six or seven kilometres, while the under-17s were covering 60 or 70, and their final event on the weekend had a hill climb finish which was pretty special, for the spectators at least!”

The series concluded over the weekend with Bendigo & District Cycling Club hosting the final two road races in Newbridge and Harcourt North.

Nick, who attended the weekend’s events with a 1963 RACV Holden EJ panel van, said he was delighted with RACV’s involvement in the series.

“It’s been great to be involved with the inaugural series and we’re looking forward to supporting junior cycling in Victoria in the future.

“Thanks to the parents, riders, Cycling Victoria and all the volunteers who have given up their weekends to put on such a great series.”

As part of RACV's involvement, Cycling Victoria members aged 15 to 21 were given a free year of RACV Bike Assist.

Congratulations go to our 12 category winners:

Category     Series winner         Club

M17A                Samuel Eddy                  Echuca-Moama
M17B                Thomas Fitzgerald         Leongatha
W17A                Catalina Soto                  Brunswick
W17B                Felicity Waddell              Leongatha
M15A                Matthew Connan           Port District (WA)
M15B                Ty Widdicombe              Colac
W15A                Chelsea Symons             Mildura Coomealla
W15B                Sophie Sutton                 Blackburn
JB13                  Eddie Jirovec                    Brunswick
JG13                  Belinda Bailey                 Bendigo
JB11                  Max Goold                       St Kilda
JG11                  Ashleigh Carnes              Ballarat Sebastopol      

Written by RACV
July 18, 2017

You might also like...